Five UCSF Scientists Among Inaugural Fellows Class for American Association for Cancer Research

By Elizabeth Fernandez | | April 4, 2013

Five UCSF Scientists Among Inaugural Fellows Class for American Association for Cancer Research

Five distinguished UC San Francisco scientists, including three Nobel laureates, are being inducted into the prestigious inaugural class of fellows of the American Association for Cancer Research Academy.

The new academy has been created to recognize individuals who have made exceptional contributions to cancer or to cancer-related biomedical science.

From UCSF, the inaugural members who will be inducted on April 5 are:

  • J. Michael Bishop, MD, Nobel laureate and chancellor emeritus of UCSF;
  • Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD, Nobel laureate and UCSF professor of biochemistry and biophysics;
  • Yuet Wai Kan, MD, UCSF professor of hematology;  
  • Frank McCormick, PhD, director of the Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, and associate dean of the UCSF School of Medicine;
  • Shinya Yamanaka, MD, PhD, Nobel laureate, UCSF professor of anatomy and senior investigator at the Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease.

Membership in the new academy is the most prestigious honor bestowed by the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), the world’s oldest and largest scientific organization focused on preventing and curing cancer.

The Fellows of the AACR Academy was created "to recognize and honor distinguished scientists whose major scientific contributions have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer," the AACR said in announcing the inaugural class. "These fellows have been selected through a rigorous peer review process that evaluates individuals on the basis of their stellar scientific achievements in cancer research."

The induction ceremony takes place during the AACR’s annual meeting being held April 6-10 in Washington D.C.

Altogether, the first class will consist of 106 scientists – the number symbolizes the age of the organization. The AACR was founded in 1907 by a group of physicians and scientists interested in cancer research.

Future members, who will be elected by members of the AACR Academy, will consist of a maximum of 11 individuals, in honor of the 11 founding members.