University of California San Francisco
Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

Three on UCSF Faculty Elected to Institute of Medicine

By Pete Farley | | October 21, 2013

Three on UCSF Faculty Elected to Institute of Medicine

Three UC San Francisco faculty members are among the 70 newly elected members of the Institute of Medicine (IOM), considered one of the highest honors in the health sciences.

The IOM serves as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analyses and recommendations on issues related to human health.The new members were announced on Oct. 21 at the institute’s 43rd annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

The latest additions from UCSF – Jeffrey A. Bluestone, PhD; Molly Cooke, MD, FACP; and Matthew W. State, MD, PhD –bring the number of IOM members from this University to 89.

"Molly, Jeff and Matt represent our excellence in education, research and clinical care and science and demonstrate that leadership comes in many flavors," said Sam Hawgood, MBBS, dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and vice chancellor of Medical Affairs at UCSF. "The Institute of Medicine will be enriched by their outstanding contributions."

New IOM members are elected by current active members through a highly selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health. At least a quarter of the membership is selected from outside the health professions from such fields as natural, social and behavioral sciences; law; engineering; and the humanities.

Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM is unique in its combined mission as both an honorific and advisory organization. With their election, members make a commitment to volunteer their service as members of IOM committees, boards and other activities.

More about the new members:

Jeffrey A. Bluestone is UCSF executive vice chancellor and holds the A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professorship in Metabolism and Endocrinology.

An international leader in the field of immunotherapy, primarily in diabetes, Bluestone’s research has helped clarify the body’s immune response on a molecular level and has catalyzed recent progress in stem cell research, islet cell transplantation and immune tolerance therapies – research that has formidably translated into drugs to treat human disease.

The former director of the UCSF Diabetes Center, Bluestone also founded and was the first director of the Immune Tolerance Network, a consortium of more than 1,000 of the world’s leading researchers from nearly 50 institutions, with the mission of testing new therapies to promote immune tolerance in transplantation, autoimmune diseases, asthma and allergic diseases.

He has authored more than 450 peer-reviewed publications and received numerous accolades for his work, including his 2006 election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Mary Tyler Moore and S. Robert Levine Excellence in Clinical Research Award from the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, and the Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences Distinguished Alumnus Award.