University of California San Francisco
Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

Eight Win Prestigious Academic Senate Awards

By Leland Kim | | May 8, 2014

Eight Win Prestigious Academic Senate Awards

Academic Senate Award winners (clockwise from upper left): Jonathan Weissman, PhD; Kristine Yaffe, MD; Deborah Greenspan, BDS, DSc; John Greenspan, BDS, PhD; Alan Gelb, MD; Erick Hung, MD; Craig Cohen, MD, MPH; and Michael A. Steinman, MD.

Eight UC San Francisco faculty members have been honored with the prestigious Academic Senate Awards in three categories: Faculty Research Lecturer, Distinction in Mentoring and Distinction in Teaching.
In the Faculty Research Lecturer category, the honorees are Jonathan Weissman, PhD, for Faculty Research Lecturer, Basic Science; Kristine Yaffe, MD, for Faculty Research Lecturer, Clinical Science; and Deborah Greenspan, BDS, DSc, and John S. Greenspan, BDS, PhD, for Faculty Research Lecturer, Translational Science.
In the Distinction in Mentoring category, the honorees are Michael A. Steinman, MD, in the associate level; and Craig Cohen, MD, MPH, in the professor level.
For the Distinction in Teaching award, the honorees are Erick Hung, MD, in the "five years or fewer" category, and Alan Gelb, MD, in the "more than five years" category.
"The Faculty Research Lectures are the highest award given to our faculty by the Academic Senate. There is a rigorous nomination and selection process for these lectureships," said Srikantan Nagarajan, PhD, professor in the UCSF Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging, who chaired the Faculty Research Lectures Awards. "Recipients of this award typically represent the very best amongst us at UCSF, faculty who have made a enduring and incredible impact in their field of research, including rewriting of the textbooks in their field, as well as creating new research areas as a result of their work."
In the early years, the Academic Senate awarded a single Faculty Lecture series which mainly highlighted UCSF’s basic science faculty. In recent years, the Committee on Research and the Academic Senate has come to recognize the diversity of UCSF’s academic faculty and they have created the three faculty lecture series.
The Academic Senate allows for the research lectures to be awarded to teams. So far they have had nominations for two teams of two individuals, including one this year. This is an effort to recognize the collaborative environment at UCSF and the success of team science at UCSF.